Facebook Messenger: How to quickly unsend embarrassing messages

Facebook CEO and founder Mark Zuckerberg testifies during a US House Committee on Energy and Commerce hearing about Facebook on Capitol Hill in Washington DC

Facebook 15 Years On How the Social Network Became a Powerful Political Tool AFP 2018 Saul Loeb

WhatsApp, another mobile messaging app owned by Facebook already has the feature available.

Facebook has finally come out with a life-saving feature where you can delete messages in a conversation on Messenger after you've sent them. "Starting today, we are launching a feature where you can easily remove your message on Messenger-whether it's to one person or a group". As of Tuesday, everyone will have the option to delete a message, from your view, as well as an entire group.

A placeholder message will let the recipients of the original message know you removed a message in place of where the message originally appeared.

There are a few caveats though - you can only remove a message within 10 minutes of sending it and everyone else in the conversation will see a placeholder notice saying you removed a message.

Lakers pull out of Anthony Davis talks over Pelicans' demands
The league's landscape is certainly feeling the tremors of the campaign by Paul and Davis. There are conflicting reports on what the Celtics would be willing to offer for Davis.

First, be aware that this method only works as of February 2019 with the latest Facebook Messenger app updates - so it won't work on the desktop Facebook website on your computer. "You're not the only one".

Facebook, which was launched as an internal networking portal by the Harvard dropout from his college dorm, today hosts about 2.7 billion people are connected on the service. Facebook cited the resultant increased security in Zuck's obtaining the Messenger unsend feature early.

"After Sony Pictures' emails were hacked in 2014, we made a number of changes to protect our executives' communications", Facebook told TechCrunch in a statement at the time. The social network says the feature is rolling out now to all Messenger users on iOS and Android. That means you won't be able to run back through old messages and unsend anything you want, which is both a bummer and a logical move.

Latest News