Mohamed Salah wins Puskás Award for his stunning strike against Everton

Modric won the Golden Ball at this summer's World Cup

Modric won the Golden Ball at this summer's World Cup

It is the first time since Brazilian Kaka's triumph in 2007 that the men's prize was not won by either Cristiano Ronaldo or Barcelona's Argentina forward Lionel Messi - neither of whom attended the ceremony at London's Royal Festival Hall.

Salah seems to be the only footballer around who is able to mobilize a global army of loyal followers who flood online voting platforms and essentially guarantee the star a win whenever a poll like that is brought to the masses.

The best Federation Internationale de Football Association women's player award was given to Brazil global Marta, after impressive displays for both her national side and club team Orlando Pride.

Croatian and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric on Monday night pipped Liverpool's talisman Mohammad Salah and Ronaldo to win the 2018 FIFA Best Player of the Year Award.

But people were left bemused and furious by the verdict which saw Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo's stunning overhead kicks in the Champions League for Real Madrid get overlooked.

Ronaldo's blast was marked for the improbable levitation achieved by the striker from distance, while Bale's broke open a tense 1-1 draw in the second half of the Champions League final against Liverpool.

Indo-Pak talks: Imran Khan makes his disappointment public
Pakistan described India's reasons as excuses to enable it to avoid holding talks before national elections next year. Pakistan President Dr Arif Alvi, said, "Sad to see India backing off from FM level talks".

The Egyptian did pick up the Puskas award earlier in the evening, however, for his strike in the Reds' win over Everton in the Premier League last season.

Despite scoring in each of his two appearances in Russian Federation, he bowed out with the Pharaohs bowed at the group stage with three defeats.

Deschamps beat off competition from Zlatko Dalic, who led Croatia to the World Cup final before losing 4-2 to France, and his former French team-mate Zinedine Zidane, who won a third consecutive Champions League title with Real Madrid before resigning in June. Olympique Lyonnais women's team manager Reynald Pedros won best women's coach.

Check out the best tweets and make up your own mind.

Thibaut Courtois won the best goalkeeper award for helping Belgium reach the World Cup semi-finals as well as the FA Cup with Chelsea before a summer move to Madrid.

Latest News